Our Tutors

Hello! I am Jan. I have been working in education for nearly twenty years. I have a Post Graduate Certificate in Education specialising in literacy and I am a member of and Tutor for The Hampshire Dyslexia Association. I have an enhanced CRB check and am a Magistrate. My work with children with challenging behaviour led me to qualify and specialise as a Reading Therapist.

 

I set up my tuition consultancy 15 years ago, providing one-to-one tuition with the simple aim of teaching all children to read. News of what I was doing soon spread and my results and approach mean that I always have a waiting list and demand continues to grow. I continue this work alongside working extensively in schools teaching children to read as well as advising and training staff in my techniques.

 

I am passionate about reading and teaching children to read. I understand how life-changing being a ‘reader’ is and the difference it makes. I decided to share my techniques with others and published The Sounds Good Reading System.

 

I also teach Maths and English from Key Stage 1 to Key Stage 4 including GCSE. I particularly love teaching GCSE Literature and watching pupils grow in confidence and self-esteem.

My name is Helen and I have lived in the Basingstoke area for the past 20 years. I have taught, mostly in primary schools but occasionally in secondary, for over 30 years. 

 

My first degree was a B.Ed from Southampton University; however, I recently completed an MA in Theology at Winchester which reminded me what it is like to be a learner rather than a teacher. I enjoyed the studying so much that I am hoping to begin a Phd
in the near future.


I particularly enjoy teaching Maths and English using a wide range of activities to engage learners in different ways. I believe that, to be effective, the learning process should be fun and I try to ensure that my students enjoy themselves as they learn.


After the busy environment of a primary school classroom, I appreciate the interaction with individual students which builds arelationship of trust and confidence. It is this relationship which boosts pupils' self-confidence, enabling them to accept the challenges of the learning process and helping them to become successful learners.

Hi. My name is Antony and I live in Four Marks. I tutor Maths from 11+ to A-level

 

I graduated with a First Class BSc (Hons) degree in Mathematics from the University of Surrey in 2014. My interest in tutoring began in helping fellow students in university, this soon expanded to helping an AS-level student during the Easter holidays and eventually lead to tutoring GCSE students during 2016. 

 

I value open and informal sessions where the work is dictated by the client’s needs combined with lessons learned from my own experiences.  I thoroughly enjoy tutoring and helping people achieve their full potential. 

 

I am available weekday and Saturday evenings and Sunday afternoons.

I have a background in Aeronautical Engineering. After reading Mathematics at the University of Southampton,  I graduated in 1970 with first class honours. I joined Westland Helicopters in the aerodynamics and dynamics departments working on rotor performance and rotor blade dynamics. I returned to Southampton to study aeronautical Engineering graduating in 1975 with an MSc(Eng). In 1985, I joined the Aeronautics & Astronautics Department at Southampton as a member of academic staff where I worked until my retirement in 2011. During this period I taught mathematics, aeroelastics, aircraft design with particular emphasis on rotorcraft. During my time as a member of academic staff, I obtained a PhD and wrote three textbooks on the fundamental aspects of helicopter design.

I lived in Winchester for 31 years and have recently moved to a village in the Alresford area. I taught mathematics at night school when I worked at Westlands in Somerset. I am now offering my services to a new audience. My attitude is that mathematics is a toolbox to beat the problem over the head it is NOT something to be feared. There are rules and methods but each has been developed to maximise the usefulness of mathematical techniques.  Hope that my 41 years in engineering will allow me to answer the “why?” questions rather than the “what?”

Hello! My name is Alice and I live in Hook. 

 

I have a first class BA (Hons) degree in American and Canadian Studies from the University of Birmingham and an MA in American Literature and Culture from the University of Leeds. 

 

I specialise in teaching English Language and Literature at all school levels, from primary to A-Level, and am up to date with the current syllabus and exam board criteria for these subjects.

 

I gained experience in teaching at university and have been tutoring on a one to one basis for over 6 months now, with lots of positive feedback! I also have experience in tutoring for school entrance exams. 

 

I believe that an understanding of English is crucial to every child’s education. My aim is to boost the self confidence of my students so that they can all achieve their potential. I personalise every session of tuition entirely to each student’s needs, facilitating and adapting to their own specific learning style and ability. I am an approachable and enthusiastic tutor and I aim to make my lessons an enjoyable, engaging, and open space, as well as a place of trust. 

 

I hope that together we will help your child to feel more confident and able in their learning of English.

Hello. I'm Stella and have been teaching children and adults since 2008, both in the classroom and privately, one to one. I live near Basingstoke though am originally from London. My BA degree is in English Literature from Goldsmiths University and as I initially trained to become a lawyer, I hold a Legal Practice Course for solicitors. My experience spans from teaching abroad in Madrid for several years, to private tuition in English and Drama up to A'Level and preparation for LAMDA exams. Currently, I teach English/Law/Drama to A'Level and Maths to GCSE standard including preparing students for the Common Entrance 11+ and 13+ exams.

My passion lies in writing, theatre, film, acting and singing and I have directed several productions for children and adults. I am an avid play and film buff! I believe that building a rapport with students is based on making them feel at ease, in order they can develop in a calm environment without feeling under pressure. I expect a high standard from my students according to their skills. In order for them to achieve in this way, I am sympathetic, caring, supportive and endeavour to introduce activities that will interest them so they feel positive about their learning development after the sessions. 

My name is Gabrielle and I live in Basingstoke. I have an MA degree in Classics from the University of Cambridge.

I have been a tutor in English, French, Latin and Ancient Greek for the past four years. I am available to teach at all school levels, from pre-GCSE to A-level and am up to date with the current syllabus for each subject. 

My philosophy in teaching is to make the learning process as enjoyable as possible! I strongly believe that each child has the ability to benefit from learning a language in its rich multiplicity of areas: from grammar and pronunciation to reading out loud and the written word. Many children can benefit from a deeper understanding of the shared structures of many languages, including all of the languages I teach.  This makes the learning process more interesting and provides ample outlet to satisfy the natural curiosity of children.

I also believe that there should be a balance between formal and informal methods of teaching a language.  When I grew up, we used to spend the majority of the time on detailed knowledge of grammar. While I think this gave me a very good formal grounding in learning languages, I also find it important to read actual stories in a language informally.  This brings the whole process to life and I have had great success in engaging pupils’ imagination by following this method. All my pupils acquire a detailed knowledge of the texts they study and their historical and cultural context. 

   

I am a flexible tutor and always seek to understand the strengths and needs of each pupil.  This means that my pupils can benefit from extra time spent filling the gaps in their knowledge and helping them to be more confident, which I find is a large part of learning a language and studying its literature.

My name is Michael and I am a very experienced tutor of mathematics and currently offer expertise from Year 6 up to GCSE level. Having formerly taught in two secondary schools up to Head of Department Level I have a thorough understanding of how children learn mathematics and the demands of the curriculum and examinations.  I have been a marker for SATs and GCSE before so can coach well in how to answer exam questions. 

 

My tuition experience over the last 20 years has enabled me to develop a range of approaches with students to get to the root of lack of confidence and misunderstandings that arise in maths where often the ‘teacher magic’ in the classroom has left the student confused. I also have a diploma in teaching of low attainers in mathematics from the Mathematical Association.

 

I can be a caring, sensitive, attentive and professional solution to your child’s needs

© 2019 Alresford Tutors

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • w-googleplus
This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now